Well, my delightful wife had to ask me about my upcoming birthday where I will be turning the big four-oh. Yes, I understand that turning 40 isn’t a huge deal and I won’t make it so. MANY before me had succumbed to this age and surpassed it. I will of course also add my name to that list eventually. All the things people usually say like “this soon shall pass” and “You are only as old as you feel” and of course “Old Man” keep running through my head. “Where is your walker?” I am prepared for the onslaught of zingers and one liners that will soon be coming my way.

They say that age is just a number, and that I think, is somewhat false. It clearly is also a form of measurement. Take a 20-something year old and ask them what they want their greatest achievement to be in this world. Perhaps they would say that they want to make a mark on the world, to be rich, famous, save lives even.” Of course these are merely examples and not all 20-year oldish people will give these answers, but if you ask someone of much greater age, maybe they made their mark on the world already. It might not have been the mark they were wanting but indeed, they made one whether they know it or not.

I have an awesome family and friends. Thankful for their generosity and calming words and smiles. I am rich. Not monetary by any means but I know that there are people that exist in the world who don’t have anyone. I am not a religious man but I do my version of prayer for those people. My mother raised me to be generous. To ask people if they need help, and to try my best. I do. Some of you that read this blog post and think you know me might scoff at that sentence. Scoff away. I am aware of who I am, and what I was put here to do. I will not give in to others who think they are building me up, only to feel like I am being tore down.

