Tags

, , , , , ,

I am sitting on my front porch with iPad in hand, trying to find something geeky to do. I really want to take my old series 2 TiVo and mod it so I can copy movies to the hard drive from USB… But sadly I can’t find the power cord and it is a certain 3 prong connector. So that blows. I also want to setup webcams for front and back yard but, I again can’t find cable long enough. I also want to build a new computer but I don’t have the right ram that the motherboard supports. What the hell? I demand geekness now!!

So sad that everything I want to do, I can’t do. I want to setup a Hackintosh but I lack a few key components. A Linux box running within a virtual window would be nice but I can’t work on it because the desktop I want to use is in the bedroom where my sick wife is so I don’t want to bother her. I could remotely control that desktop from an idevice or a laptop but for something like setting up virtual machines for what I WANT to use it for, I would initially need to be sitting in front of it.

Oh Big Suck!

Anyway, we DO have pretty good weather right now so sitting outside is cool. I still feel the urgency to geek-out though. A few nights ago I set my iPad and iPod to default so they are non-jail broke. I thought that beings I work for Apple, I can use these components as a first hand run thru with customers. I would be able to walk them thru certain steps to troubleshoot beings I would have the same devices in hand. Ok, so that’s done… What else can I do?

Sometimes I feel like there is this one force that keeps pushing me down creatively and I can’t for the life of me get past it. If I would write or type a list of all the things that I want to do, there would seemingly be no end to it. I want to learn a new language, I want to be able to recall more information. I want to be more aware of my surroundings.

I want more knowledge.

Sure I know that people all excel at different things, I like technology, others enjoy history, geology, physiology, psychology, and all kinds of other -ology ish things. I have so many ebooks on trying to train your brain and learn nemonic skills, so many other approaches with no reaping of reward. I just don’t know. Perhaps I am as smart as I am capable of being. Maybe my threshold for the amount of information my cerebral cortex can accept if very low. Maybe I am just not supposed to be analytical, which is fine with me but if you are not analytical, that means that you are creative… And I’m not that either so… where do I stand in the grand scheme of things?

