Tags

,

http://kfor.com/2012/04/03/pay-it-4ward/

I look at my 2 monitor system. A picture of one of my friends for over 30 years of my life lay on the right… these words on the left. This man who I had come to realize was one of the reasons I still sit in this chair today. Coming from an alcoholic up rigging amongst other things , I was prone to severe bouts of depression and self loathing. Now? I have 2 great kids and a woman that loves me for me. This man to my right was one of the causes of why I didn’t end my life.

He sported Jesus Christ in one hand and a guitar in the other.

I heard a few weeks that even a few weeks prior he suffered a stroke and can barely understand anything. He lives in Council Bluffs, Iowa. He worked with a youth group to form their relationship and love of God. His official title is Music Associate at Living Grace Lutheran Church. I call him one of the most influentially loved people I have ever known and he deserves everything and more.

Everyone loves Sonny. There was a long standing joke that his beard was the source of his power and we all joke fully try to cut it.

I owe this man my life literally. I lived in an alcoholic home so my depression was at an all time high. He has devoted his life to Christ to help people… and sadly thru the years my faith has suffered through no fault but my own. Having my own medical issues made it harder to maintain work and income.

I haven’t seen this man or my family in Council Bluffs, Iowa in 6 years due to funds and I really don’t know if he would even remember me to this day but I will never forget him. On your newscast you ask us if we have met a person that personifies love for other people. He exemplifies that. Thank you for reading this.

I am not sure if KFOR will pick the story up but, I am in OKC, so I am going to do everything I can… because I can’t not do nothing… not with the gift he gave me.

Can’t wait to see you again old friend.

